February 2022 Book of the Month Predictions

It is that time of the month where all of us Book of the Month subscribers start to anxiously anticipate the next month’s releases. I am here to speculate and possibly predict which books will be selected for Book of the Month main picks and add-ons. I limit my predictions to two books per genre, except for thrillers and contemporary & literary fiction where there is often more than one selection.

Last month was the second time I made Book of the Month selection predictions, and I predicted 5 of the 7 main picks and add-ons. I hope I have the same success this month. As I perfect my methods, I am going to stop separating my predictions into main picks and add-ons.

Contemporary & Literary Fiction

The Family Chao

Lan Samantha Chang

The residents of Haven, Wisconsin, have dined on the Fine Chao restaurant’s delicious Americanized Chinese food for thirty-five years, content to ignore any unsavory whispers about the family owners. Whether or not Big Leo Chao is honest, or his wife, Winnie, is happy, their food tastes good and their three sons earned scholarships to respectable colleges. But when the brothers reunite in Haven, the Chao family’s secrets and simmering resentments erupt at last.

Shadows of Pecan Hollow

Caroline Frost

Set in Texas in the 1970s and 90s, Shadows of Pecan Hollow is a literary debut about a fierce woman and the partner-in-crime she can’t escape, perfect for readers of Where the Crawdads Sing and Valentine.

Debut

What the Fireflies Knew

Kai Harris

In the vein of Jesmyn Ward’s Salvage the Bones and Sue Monk Kidd’s The Secret Life of Bees, a coming-of-age novel told by almost-eleven-year-old Kenyatta Bernice (KB), as she and her sister try to make sense of their new life with their estranged grandfather in the wake of their father’s death and their mother’s disappearance.

Debut

Book of the Month is a monthly book subscription box.
You can sign up here to get your first book for $5.




Subscribe

The Boy with the Bird in His Chest

Emme Lund

A modern coming-of-age full of love, desperation, heartache, and magic about the ways in which family, grief, love, queerness, and vulnerability all intersect.

Debut

Vladimir*

Julia May Jonas

A provocative, razor-sharp, and timely debut novel about a beloved English professor facing a slew of accusations against her professor husband by former students—a situation that becomes more complicated when she herself develops an obsession of her own…

Debut


Historical Fiction

Don’t Cry for Me*

Daniel Black

Acclaimed author Daniel Black illuminates the lived experiences of Black fathers and queer sons, offering an authentic and ultimately hopeful portrait of reckoning and reconciliation. Don’t Cry for Me is a monumental novel about one family grappling with love’s hard edges and the unexpected places where hope and healing take flight.

The Christie Affair

Nina de Gramont

Nina de Gramont’s The Christie Affair is a beguiling novel of star-crossed lovers, heartbreak, revenge, and murder—and a brilliant re-imagination of one of the most talked-about unsolved mysteries of the twentieth century. The greatest mystery wasn’t Agatha Christie’s disappearance in those eleven infamous days, it’s what she discovered.

The Tobacco Wives

Adele Myers

A vibrant historical debut set in 1946 North Carolina following a young female seamstress who uncovers dangerous truths about Big Tobacco.

Debut & Early Release

Peach Blossom Spring*

Melissa Fu

A beautifully rendered novel about war, migration, and the power of telling our stories, Peach Blossom Spring follows three generations of a Chinese family on their search for a place to call home.

Early Release

I Must Betray You

Ruta Sepetys

A gut-wrenching, startling historical thriller about communist Romania and the citizen spy network that devastated a nation, from the #1 New York Times bestselling, award-winning author Ruta Sepetys.

Repeat Author


Romance

The Arc

Tory Henwood Hoen

Thirty-five-year-old Ursula Byrne is successful, witty, whip-smart, and single. She’s tried all the dating apps, and let’s just say: she’s underwhelmed by her options. You’d think that by now someone would have come up with something more bespoke; a way for users to be more tailored about who and what they want in a life partner––how hard could that be? Enter The Arc: a highly secretive, super-sophisticated matchmaking service that uses a complex series of emotional, psychological and physiological assessments to architect partnerships that will go the distance. 

Debut

Delilah Green Doesn’t Care

Ashley Herring Blake

A clever and steamy queer romantic comedy about taking chances and accepting love—with all its complications—by debut author Ashley Herring Blake.

Debut

Meet Me in the Margins

Melissa Ferguson

Savannah Cade’s dreams are coming true. The Claire Donovan, editor-in-chief of the most successful romance imprint in the country, has requested to see the manuscript Savannah’s been secretly writing while working as editor herself. Then Claire announces that Savannah has six weeks to resubmit before she retires, Savannah finds herself forced to seek the help of the shadowy editor after all.

One Night on the Island

Josie Silver

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of One Day in December . . . When a double-booking at a remote one-room cabin accidentally throws two solace seekers together, it feels like a cruel twist of fate. But what if it’s fate of a different kind?

Repeat Author


Thrillers & Mysteries

I think it is likely that between main picks and add-ons there will be several thrillers to choose from. Historically, Simone St. James’s books are early releases as are those by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen.

Other People’s Clothes

Calla Henkel

Two American ex-pats obsessed with the Amanda Knox trial find themselves at the nexus of murder and celebrity in glittering late-aughts Berlin in this hugely entertaining debut with a wicked sense of humor.

Debut

Beneath the Stairs

Jennifer Fawcett

In this spine-tingling, atmospheric debut for fans of Jennifer McMahon, Simone St. James, and Chris Bohjalian, a woman returns to her hometown after her childhood friend attempts suicide at a local haunted house—the same place where a traumatic incident shattered their lives twenty years ago.

Debut

This Might Hurt

Stephanie Wrobel

Welcome to Wisewood. We’ll keep your secrets if you keep ours.

Natalie Collins hasn’t heard from her sister in more than half a year. The last time they spoke, Kit was slogging from mundane workdays to obligatory happy hours to crying in the shower about their dead mother. She told Natalie she was sure there was something more out there. And then she found Wisewood.

Homicide and Halo-Halo

Mia P. Manansala

In the follow-up to Arsenic and Adobo, death at a beauty pageant turns Tita Rosie’s Kitchen upside down in the latest entry of this witty and humorous cozy mystery series by Mia P. Manansala.

Repeat Author

The Paris Apartment

Lucy Foley

Jess needs a fresh start. She’s broke and alone, and she’s just left her job under less than ideal circumstances. Her half-brother Ben didn’t sound thrilled when she asked if she could crash with him for a bit, but he didn’t say no, and surely everything will look better from Paris. Only when she shows up – to find a very nice apartment, could Ben really have afforded this? – he’s not there.

Repeat Author

The Book of Cold Cases

Simone St. James

A true crime blogger gets more than she bargained for while interviewing the woman acquitted of two cold case slayings in this chilling new novel.

Repeat Author & Early Release

The Golden Couple*

Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen

If Avery Chambers can’t fix you in 10 sessions, she won’t take you on as a client. Marissa and Mathew Bishop seem like the golden couple–until Marissa cheats. She wants to repair things, and after a friend forwards an article about Avery, Marissa takes a chance on this maverick therapist, who lost her license due to controversial methods.

Repeat Author & Early Release


Fantasy & Science Fiction

The Violence

Delilah S. Dawson

Three generations of abused women must navigate their chilling new reality as a mysterious epidemic of violence sweeps the nation in this compelling novel of self-discovery, legacy, and hope.


Memoir

They Said They Wanted Revolution: A Memoir of My Parents

Neda Toloui-Semnani

From a daughter of Iranian revolutionaries, activists, immigrants, refugees, and asylum seekers comes a gripping and emotional memoir of family and the tumultuous history of two nations.

Debut

What My Bones Know: A Memoir of Healing from Complex Trauma

Stephanie Foo

A searing memoir of reckoning and healing by acclaimed journalist Stephanie Foo, investigating the little-understood science behind complex PTSD and how it has shaped her life.

Debut


*Titles with an asterisk are confirmed main selections.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: