November Book Mail

It is that exciting time of the year when new releases start arriving on my doorstep. Publishers have been busy sending out 2023 advanced reader’s copies and emptying their shelves of 2022 books.

The 1619 Project: A New Origin Story

Synopsis: The New York Times Magazine’s award-winning “1619 Project” issue reframed our understanding of American history by placing slavery and its continuing legacy at the center of our national narrative. This new book substantially expands on that work, weaving together eighteen essays that explore the legacy of slavery in present-day America with thirty-six poems and works of fiction that illuminate key moments of oppression, struggle, and resistance. The essays show how the inheritance of 1619 reaches into every part of contemporary American society, from politics, music, diet, traffic, and citizenship to capitalism, religion, and our democracy itself.

Publication Date: November 16, 2021

I received a gifted copy from the publisher, One World Publishing.

The World Record Book of Racist Stories

Synopsis: Following up her instant New York Times bestseller, A Flicker in the Dark, Stacy Willingham delivers a totally gripping thriller about a desperate mother with a troubled past in All the Dangerous Things.

Publication Date: January 10, 2023

I received a gifted copy from the publisher, Grand Central Publishing.

Factory Girls

Synopsis: A love letter to Syria and its people, As Long as the Lemon Trees Grow is a speculative novel set amid the Syrian Revolution, burning with the fires of hope, love, and possibility. Perfect for fans of The Book Thief and Salt to the Sea.

Publication Date: September 13, 2022

I received an advance reader’s copy from the publisher, Kensington Books, as part of a blog tour.

American Mermaid

Synopsis: A brilliantly funny debut novel that follows a writer lured to Los Angeles to adapt her feminist mermaid novel into a big-budget action film, who believes her heroine has come to life to take revenge for Hollywood’s violations.

Publication Date: March 21, 2023

I received an advance reader’s copy from the publisher, Doubleday.

Dead and Gondola: A Christie Bookshop Mystery

Synopsis: In this series debut, a mysterious bookshop visitor dies under murderous circumstances, compelling the Christie sisters and their cat, Agatha, to call on all they’ve learned about solving mysteries from their favorite novelist.

Publication Date: November 1, 2022

I received a gifted copy from the publisher, Bantam Books.

Gone Like Yesterday

Synopsis: A lyrical debut novel that asks what we owe to our families, what we owe to our ancestors, and what we owe to ourselves. Janelle M. Williams’s Gone Like Yesterday employs magical realism to explore the majestic and haunting experience of being a Black woman in today’s America.  

Publication Date: February 14, 2023

I received an advance reader’s copy from the publisher, Tiny Reparations Books.

The Light We Carry: Overcoming in Uncertain Times

Synopsis:  In an inspiring follow-up to her critically acclaimed, #1 bestselling memoir Becoming, former First Lady Michelle Obama shares practical wisdom and powerful strategies for staying hopeful and balanced in today’s highly uncertain world.

Publication Date: November 15, 2022

I received a gifted copy from the publisher, Crown Publishing Group.

Newsroom Confidential: Lessons (and Worries) from an Ink-Stained Life

Synopsis: In Newsroom Confidential she chronicles her years in the trenches battling sexism and throwing elbows in a highly competitive newsroom. With her celebrated mixture of charm, sharp-eyed observation, and nuanced criticism, Sullivan takes us behind the scenes of the nation’s most influential news outlets to explore how Americans lost trust in the news and what it will take to regain it.

Publication Date: October 18, 2022

I won a copy of this book from the publisher through a Goodreads Giveaway.

Project Hail Mary

Synopsis: From the author of The Martian, a lone astronaut must save the earth from disaster in this “propulsive” (Entertainment Weekly), cinematic thriller full of suspense, humor, and fascinating science—in development as a major motion picture starring Ryan Gosling.

Publication Date: May 4, 2021

I received a gifted copy from the publisher, Ballantine Books.

A Sliver of Darkness: Stories

Synopsis: The debut short-story collection from the acclaimed author of The Chalk Man, hailed as “Britain’s female Stephen King” (Daily Mail), featuring eleven bone-chilling and mind-bending tales.

Publication Date: November 8, 2022

I received a gifted copy from the publisher, Ballantine Books.

White Horse

Synopsis: Erika T. Wurth’s White Horse is a gritty, vibrant debut novel about an Indigenous woman who must face her past when she discovers a bracelet haunted by her mother’s spirit.

Publication Date: November 1, 2022

I received a gifted copy as part of Bookspark’s book club.

Winterland

Synopsis: Perfection has a cost . . . With transporting prose and meticulous detail, set in an era that remains shockingly relevant today, Winterland tells a story of glory, loss, hope, and determination, and of finding light where none exists.

Publication Date: November 29, 2022

I received an advance reader’s copy from the publisher, Henry Holt & Co.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: