January To Be Read List

I love the beginning of a new year. It is a fresh start and a clean slate. And for some reason, that also gets me excited to put together my list of planned reads for the month.

Every month, I plan what books I intend to read and what I plan to post on bookstagram and this site. And every month I am overly ambitious. So, it is fair to assume that this list is more aspirational than anything. I will definitely fit in many of these books. However, as a mood reader, I may veer off the list or not feel like a book on the list.

Age of Vice

This is one of my January Book of the Month selections. I am trying to read my BOTM picks within the month I receive them this year. We will see how successful I am!

Synopsis: Equal parts crime thriller and family saga, transporting readers from the dusty villages of Uttar Pradesh to the urban energy of New Delhi, Age of Vice is an intoxicating novel of gangsters and lovers, false friendships, forbidden romance, and the consequences of corruption.

Publication Date: January 3, 2023

The Bandit Queens

I am super intrigued by this upcoming release. I thought it might have been a BOTM pick, but it was not. Thankfully, the publisher sent me a copy to read.

Synopsis: A young Indian woman finds the false rumors that she killed her husband surprisingly useful—until other women in the village start asking for her help getting rid of their own husbands—in this razor-sharp debut.

Publication Date: January 3, 2023

Blaze Me a Sun

I have not read any Nordic noir or anything similar. This will be my first foray into the genre.

Synopsis: A serial killer in a small Swedish town commits his first murder the same night the prime minister is assassinated—a “thrilling and profoundly poignant” (Angie Kim) novel by one of the Sweden’s top criminologists.

Publication Date: January 3, 2023

Night Wherever We Go

I am super excited to dive into this book. The synopsis peaked my interest months ago. I am hoping that Harper Collins sits down at the table with its union, so I can actually read and review it. But I refuse to cross the picket in.

Synopsis: A gripping, radically intimate debut novel about a group of enslaved women staging a covert rebellion against their owners.

Publication Date: January 3, 2023

My Name is Lucy Barton (Amgash #1)

My Booker of the Month (Booker Prize) book club is planning on reading Oh, William! (Amgash #3)next month. I intended to read this last month and then the second book this month. I, of course, failed to do so and am playing catch up.

Synopsis: A simple hospital visit becomes a portal to the tender relationship between mother and daughter in this extraordinary novel by the Pulitzer Prize–winning author of Olive Kitteridge and The Burgess Boys.

Publication Date: January 12, 2016

The Witch Hunter (Ghosts of the Past #1)

The third book in this series will be published in February. I have an e-galley of it and want to read the two prior books first.

Synopsis: A shocking murder in an affluent Helsinki suburb has ties to witchcraft and the occult in this thrilling U.S. debut from Finnish author Max Seeck.

Publication Date: October 27, 2020

The Ice Coven (Ghosts of the Past #2)

The third book in this series will be published in February. I have an e-galley of it and want to read the two prior books first.

Synopsis: Investigator Jessica Niemi is in a race against time to find the link between a body with strange markings that has washed up on a frigid shore in Finland and two baffling disappearances in this terrifying new novel.

Publication Date: September 28, 2021

All the Dangerous Things

As I mentioned before, I am trying to read my BOTM selections in the month I acquire them or the following month. This was one of my December picks.

Synopsis: Following up her instant New York Times bestseller, A Flicker in the Dark, Stacy Willingham delivers a totally gripping thriller about a desperate mother with a troubled past in All the Dangerous Things.

Publication Date: January 10, 2023

As Long as the Lemon Trees Grow

As I mentioned before, I am trying to read my BOTM selections in the month I acquire them or the following month. This was one of my December picks. I am also super pumped to dive into this book after seeing it on so many people’s best books of 2022 lists.

Synopsis: A love letter to Syria and its people, As Long as the Lemon Trees Grow is a speculative novel set amid the Syrian Revolution, burning with the fires of hope, love, and possibility. Perfect for fans of The Book Thief and Salt to the Sea.

Publication Date: September 13, 2022

Lunar Love

As I mentioned before, I am trying to read my BOTM selections in the month I acquire them. This is one of my January picks, which I plan to read around Chinese New Year.

Synopsis: This sweet, enemies-to-lovers debut rom-com filled with Chinese astrology will undoubtedly prove to be a perfect match with readers of Helen Hoang, Jasmine Guillory, and Helena Hunting.

Publication Date: January 10, 2023

What Lies in the Woods

This is another one of my January Book of the Month selections.

Synopsis: Kate Alice Marshall’s What Lies in the Woods is a thrilling novel about friendship, secrets, betrayal, and lies – and having the courage to face the past.

Publication Date: January 17, 2023

Hamnet

I have been intending to read this book for 2 years. I keep failing to be in the mood I think it requires. Will this month finally be the month I read it?

Synopsis: In 1580’s England, during the Black Plague a young Latin tutor falls in love with an extraordinary, eccentric young woman in this “exceptional historical novel” (The New Yorker) and best-selling winner of the Women’s Prize for Fiction.

Publication Date: July 21, 2020

Please Report Your Bug Here

While I am not a big sci-fi fan, this sounded like a book in the genre that I may like. Plus, it is written by Instagram’s first employee… hopefully it has some things to say about the tech world.

Synopsis: Introducing Josh Riedel’s adrenaline-packed debut novel about a dating app employee who discovers a glitch that transports him to other worlds.

Publication Date: January 17, 2023

Locust Lane

This book was a total fomo NetGalley request after seeing a bunch of friends receive copies last year. Hopefully, it lives up to the hype.

Synopsis: For fans of Mystic River by Dennis Lehane and Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste NgStephen Amidon’s Locust Lane is a taut and utterly propulsive story about the search for justice and the fault lines of power and influence in a seemingly idyllic town. Can anyone be trusted?

Publication Date: January 17, 2023

The End of Drum-Time

I have yet to read any historical romances. This one caught my attention, and the publisher sent a copy my way.

Synopsis: An epic love story in the vein of Cold Mountain and The Great Circle, about a young reindeer herder and a minister’s daughter in the nineteenth century Arctic Circle.

Publication Date: January 24, 2023

Best of Friends

The publisher sent me a finished copy of this book several months ago. I keep planning on reading it and failing to do so.

Synopsis: From the acclaimed author of Home Fire, the moving and surprising story of a lifelong friendship and the forces that bring it to the breaking point.

Publication Date: September 27, 2022

How Medicine Works and When It Doesn’t: Learning Who to Trust to Get and Stay Healthy

I always go into these kinds of books skeptical, especially since I am work in healthcare. I am interested to see what this book has to say and whether or not I agree.

Synopsis: Blending personal anecdotes with hard science, an accomplished physician, researcher, and science communicator gives you the tools to avoid medical misinformation and take control of your health​.

Publication Date: January 24, 2023

None of This Would Have Happened If Prince Were Alive

This was one of my Aardvark Book Club selections for December. I have subscribed since October and have yet to read any of the books I have bought. Oops.

Synopsis: Perfect for fans of Maria Semple and Jennifer Weiner, this smart and witty debut novel follows Ramona through the forty-eight hours after her life has been upended by the discovery of her husband’s affair and an approaching Category Four hurricane.

Publication Date: November 22, 2022

The Writing Retreat

I have only seen glowing reviews for this upcoming release. I think it may be a February Book of the Month selection; so, I am going to try to read it before the selections drop.

Synopsis: The Plot meets Please Join Us in this psychological suspense debut about a young author at an exclusive writer’s retreat that descends into a nightmare.

Publication Date: February 21, 2023

The Seven Moons of Maali Almeida

I am plan to FINALLY make it to the Booker of the Month (Booker Prize) book club this month. This is the planned read.

Synopsis: Winner of the 2022 Booker Prize, The Seven Moons of Maali Almeida is a searing satire set amid the mayhem of the Sri Lankan civil war.

Publication Date: November 1, 2022

Central Places

I was really hoping that this would have been a January Book of the Month selection. Alas, it was not. Luckily, the publisher sent me a copy.

Synopsis: A young woman’s past and present collide when she brings her white fiancé home to meet her Chinese immigrant parents in this vibrant debut from an exciting new voice in fiction.

Publication Date: January 31, 2023

The Drift

The publisher gifted me a copy of this book. I am hoping to read it around its publication date. I have my fingers crossed that I will like it more than I did The Chalk Man.

Synopsis: Three ordinary people risk everything for a chance at redemption in this audacious, utterly gripping novel of catastrophe and survival at the end of the world, from the acclaimed author of The Chalk Man.

Publication Date: January 31, 2023

Finlay Donovan Jumps the Gun

I have an e-galley of this book and am looking forward to reading the third installment in the Finlay Donovan series.

Synopsis: From USA Today bestseller and Edgar Award nominee Elle Cosimano, comes Finlay Donovan Jumps the Gun―the hilarious and heart-pounding next installment in the beloved Finlay Donovan series.

Publication Date: January 31, 2023

Pines (Wayward Pines #1)

I will be reading this for a bookstagram buddy read. I am excited to dive into Blake Crouch’s backlist.

Synopsis: Wayward Pines, Idaho, is quintessential small-town America–or so it seems. Secret Service agent Ethan Burke arrives in search of two missing federal agents, yet soon is facing much more than he bargained for. After a violent accident lands him in the hospital, Ethan comes to with no ID and no cell phone. The medical staff seems friendly enough, but sometimes feels…off. As days pass, Ethan’s investigation into his colleagues’ disappearance turns up more questions than answers.

Publication Date: August 21, 2012

Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

I will be reading this for a local in-person book club. I have been intending to read this book for at least 6 months at this point.

Synopsis: Sam and Sadie—two college friends, often in love, but never lovers—become creative partners in a dazzling and intricately imagined world of video game design, where success brings them fame, joy, tragedy, duplicity, and, ultimately, a kind of immortality. It is a love story, but not one you have read before.

Publication Date: July 5, 2022

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: